Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Bandwidth - Banners - URLs
The Planet Forums > Security > General Security
qwertyjoe
I have a visitor to my site, for the last 2 months, that logs 2 times more page views than anyone else. As well as bandwidth but about 1/2 the visits. I cater to call centers and welcome the hits. But when I check my ad logs, no ads are being shown to this IP. So I'm wondering if they are just blocking my ads, which I could live with, or is something else going on? I don't think they are downloading my whole website because they would have had it long ago. I don't want to block the IP unless something else, besides visits, is going on. I have 'hot linking' turned on and it is working. They always go to the same 10-15 pages over and over. I'm baffled. Below are log files on this IP (nothing offbeat in it). Anyone know what might be happening beside visits? Thanks.


#*$!.#*$!.#*$!.x - - [29/Jun/2008:03:47:16 -0500] "GET /r_arrow.jpg HTTP/1.1" 304 - "http://mywebsite.com" "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1; SV1; .NET CLR 2.0.50727)"

#*$!.#*$!.#*$!.x - - [29/Jun/2008:06:41:10 -0500] "GET /2008/desktop.htm HTTP/1.1" 200 5056 "http://mywebsite.com/" "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 7.0; Windows NT 5.1; .NET CLR 2.0.50727)"
kamnet
Could it be because this person is using AVG 8's LinkScanner software? Might want to check out this topic from The Register:
http://www.theregister.co.uk/2008/06/26/av...traffic_as_ie6/
markcausa
Could the IP address belong to a search engine spider?
qwertyjoe
QUOTE (kamnet @ Jul 1 2008, 03:34 PM) *
Could it be because this person is using AVG 8's LinkScanner software? Might want to check out this topic from The Register:
http://www.theregister.co.uk/2008/06/26/av...traffic_as_ie6/


Interesting article. This IP is from a helpdesk so I don't think that is what is happening but I'm going to check it out. Thanks.
qwertyjoe
QUOTE (kamnet @ Jul 1 2008, 03:34 PM) *
Could it be because this person is using AVG 8's LinkScanner software? Might want to check out this topic from The Register:
http://www.theregister.co.uk/2008/06/26/av...traffic_as_ie6/


The IP is from a helpdesk and the kind of traffic that I cater to. I really don't know what's happening. It may be legi traffic. Thanks for your reply.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.