Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Outgoing Email Marked As {SPAM}
The Planet Forums > System Administration > Mail Hosting
PRisteff
Recently after adding several sites to server all outgoing email marked with {SPAM}. Any ideas what's causing this and how to correct. Ensim Pro X Console Red Hat Linux OS.
MarkL
QUOTE (PRisteff @ Apr 21 2008, 02:39 PM) *
Recently after adding several sites to server all outgoing email marked with {SPAM}. Any ideas what's causing this and how to correct. Ensim Pro X Console Red Hat Linux OS.


Need a bit more info to help you out.

Is you mail server marking it as spam or are the mail servers you are delivering it marking it as spam. If I had to guess, Spam Assassian is probably doing this for outgoing email. There are a couple things that you can do. You can turn off Spam Assassian for outgoing emails, or you can figure out why this is happening. Some reasons could be the headers are incorrect, SPF failure, incorrect domainkey signing, and so forth. Are you just testing emails through the webmail, is this happening in email clients like outlook? Are these messages you created, or are are they automatically generated by lets say the PHP mail() function?

The more information you can provide, the easier it will be to diagnose the problem.
PRisteff
QUOTE (MarkL @ Apr 22 2008, 01:58 AM) *
Need a bit more info to help you out.

Is you mail server marking it as spam or are the mail servers you are delivering it marking it as spam. If I had to guess, Spam Assassian is probably doing this for outgoing email. There are a couple things that you can do. You can turn off Spam Assassian for outgoing emails, or you can figure out why this is happening. Some reasons could be the headers are incorrect, SPF failure, incorrect domainkey signing, and so forth. Are you just testing emails through the webmail, is this happening in email clients like outlook? Are these messages you created, or are are they automatically generated by lets say the PHP mail() function?

The more information you can provide, the easier it will be to diagnose the problem.


Email client is primarily Outlook Express and Outlook as being reported to me by the different sites. Problem is server wide. This server has been in service for about 10 months with no issues. We did experience an issue with Pro X over the last couple of weeks with the console changing the IP address of approx. 40% of the sites on this server to the Ensim default settings. The email issue began directly before this. Attached is an example of the details of a message created by one of the sites.

X-McAfeeVS-TimeoutProtection: 0
Received: from imta02.westchester.pa.mail.comcast.net ([76.96.62.21])
by rwcrmxc16.comcast.net (rwcrmxc16) with ESMTP
id <20080414152125r1600l5qrde>; Mon, 14 Apr 2008 15:21:25 +0000
X-Originating-IP: [76.96.62.21]
Received: from highdesigninc.connectvermont.net ([70.87.178.130])
by IMTA02.westchester.pa.mail.comcast.net with comcast
id DTMN1Z03g2pBWWW0200000; Mon, 14 Apr 2008 15:21:25 +0000
X-Authority-Analysis: v=1.0 c=1 a=FTwZRj4xM4IA:15
a=TE/GLcLDob+l/55bydwXBw==:17 a=9gRXcvWroNcGlMzRNcAA:9
a=i0Or6ryvT1FFZxboiXcA:7 a=NDlAyCdSFmWMnFUyvTEhmfFYMNIA:4 a=si9q_4b84H0A:10
a=ryiw85s1Z4UA:10 a=2uiCRmbCp6AA:10 a=SSmOFEACAAAA:8 a=uHGanqLso898xual8K8A:9
a=YnLJjtEkGK3myLUWUh8A:7 a=aqQps5bznRRrxYGtRam20sugz6QA:4 a=37WNUvjkh6kA:10
X-ClientAddr: 71.192.1.6
Received: from CareyPC (c-71-192-1-6.hsd1.vt.comcast.net [71.192.1.6])
(authenticated bits=0)
by highdesigninc.connectvermont.net (8.13.1/8.13.1) with ESMTP id m3EFSnFS012917
for <highdesign@comcast.net>; Mon, 14 Apr 2008 10:28:49 -0500
From: "Carey" <info@lassodmoondesigns.com>
To: "'High Design Creative Group'" <highdesign@comcast.net>
References: <001901c898c1$6d8bfce0$0302a8c0@paul> <8E99A65C9BA246ABA774B544C5FC7B4D@CareyPC> <002401c898c4$04908050$0302a8c0@paul>
In-Reply-To: <002401c898c4$04908050$0302a8c0@paul>
Subject: {Spam?} RE: email
Date: Mon, 14 Apr 2008 11:21:22 -0400
Message-ID: <BAC843434FBB48598E5A50B4BBF7B101@CareyPC>
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/alternative;
boundary="----=_NextPart_000_0017_01C89E21.ABFDDE70"
X-Mailer: Microsoft Office Outlook 11
X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V6.0.6000.16545
Thread-Index: AciYxQiUFahl6skoTB+I7Ts7Gh1YaQFfauoA
X-highdesigninc.connectvermont.net-MailScanner-Information: Please contact the ISP for more information
X-highdesigninc.connectvermont.net-MailScanner: Not scanned: please contact your Internet E-Mail Service Provider for details
X-highdesigninc.connectvermont.net-MailScanner-SpamCheck: spam, ORDB-RBL
X-MailScanner-From: info@lassodmoondesigns.com
alden
QUOTE (PRisteff @ Apr 22 2008, 08:42 AM) *
Email client is primarily Outlook Express and Outlook as being reported to me by the different sites. Problem is server wide. This server has been in service for about 10 months with no issues. We did experience an issue with Pro X over the last couple of weeks with the console changing the IP address of approx. 40% of the sites on this server to the Ensim default settings. The email issue began directly before this. Attached is an example of the details of a message created by one of the sites.

X-McAfeeVS-TimeoutProtection: 0
Received: from imta02.westchester.pa.mail.comcast.net ([76.96.62.21])
by rwcrmxc16.comcast.net (rwcrmxc16) with ESMTP
id <20080414152125r1600l5qrde>; Mon, 14 Apr 2008 15:21:25 +0000
X-Originating-IP: [76.96.62.21]
Received: from highdesigninc.connectvermont.net ([70.87.178.130])
by IMTA02.westchester.pa.mail.comcast.net with comcast
id DTMN1Z03g2pBWWW0200000; Mon, 14 Apr 2008 15:21:25 +0000
X-Authority-Analysis: v=1.0 c=1 a=FTwZRj4xM4IA:15
a=TE/GLcLDob+l/55bydwXBw==:17 a=9gRXcvWroNcGlMzRNcAA:9
a=i0Or6ryvT1FFZxboiXcA:7 a=NDlAyCdSFmWMnFUyvTEhmfFYMNIA:4 a=si9q_4b84H0A:10
a=ryiw85s1Z4UA:10 a=2uiCRmbCp6AA:10 a=SSmOFEACAAAA:8 a=uHGanqLso898xual8K8A:9
a=YnLJjtEkGK3myLUWUh8A:7 a=aqQps5bznRRrxYGtRam20sugz6QA:4 a=37WNUvjkh6kA:10
X-ClientAddr: 71.192.1.6
Received: from CareyPC (c-71-192-1-6.hsd1.vt.comcast.net [71.192.1.6])
(authenticated bits=0)
by highdesigninc.connectvermont.net (8.13.1/8.13.1) with ESMTP id m3EFSnFS012917
for <highdesign@comcast.net>; Mon, 14 Apr 2008 10:28:49 -0500
From: "Carey" <info@lassodmoondesigns.com>
To: "'High Design Creative Group'" <highdesign@comcast.net>
References: <001901c898c1$6d8bfce0$0302a8c0@paul> <8E99A65C9BA246ABA774B544C5FC7B4D@CareyPC> <002401c898c4$04908050$0302a8c0@paul>
In-Reply-To: <002401c898c4$04908050$0302a8c0@paul>
Subject: {Spam?} RE: email
Date: Mon, 14 Apr 2008 11:21:22 -0400
Message-ID: <BAC843434FBB48598E5A50B4BBF7B101@CareyPC>
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/alternative;
boundary="----=_NextPart_000_0017_01C89E21.ABFDDE70"
X-Mailer: Microsoft Office Outlook 11
X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V6.0.6000.16545
Thread-Index: AciYxQiUFahl6skoTB+I7Ts7Gh1YaQFfauoA
X-highdesigninc.connectvermont.net-MailScanner-Information: Please contact the ISP for more information
X-highdesigninc.connectvermont.net-MailScanner: Not scanned: please contact your Internet E-Mail Service Provider for details
X-highdesigninc.connectvermont.net-MailScanner-SpamCheck: spam, ORDB-RBL
X-MailScanner-From: info@lassodmoondesigns.com


Your mail is marked as spam, because ORDB-RBL was disabled more than a year ago. Apparently, someone else took over ordb.org and is trying to restart the service, but problems are being created.

Go into /etc/MailScanner/MailScanner.conf and look at the "Spam Lists =" line. Make sure you don't have ORDB-RBL listed there (or search for ORDB-RBL, and remove it!).

Lots of people have gotten caught by this, so you're not alone, if that's any consolation.

Regards,
Alden
MarkL
QUOTE (PRisteff @ Apr 22 2008, 05:42 AM) *
X-highdesigninc.connectvermont.net-MailScanner-SpamCheck: spam, ORDB-RBL


As alden pointed out, this is the culprit.
PRisteff
QUOTE (MarkL @ Apr 22 2008, 02:02 PM) *
As alden pointed out, this is the culprit.


Thanks so much!
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.