Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: hotmail issues for just one hosted client
The Planet Forums > System Administration > Mail Hosting
pli
I have an account on my server domain.co.nz that will not communicate with hotmail accounts. There is no issues with email accounts that are hosted on my base IP address

I suspect that it has something to do with the fact that they have their own IP address 209.85.*.***

dnsstuff.com says Mail server host name in greeting.

domain.co.nz claims to be host host.myhostdomain.net [but that host is at 209.85.*.*** (may be cached), not 209.85.*.***].

I suspect it has something to do with this, but have not been able to get if fixed as below like my other non own IP accounts

OK: All of your mailservers have their host name in the greeting:

anotherclient.co.nz:
220-host.myhostdomain.net ESMTP Exim 4.63 #1 Fri, 23 Feb 2007 11:17:31 +1300 220-We do not authorize the use of this system to transport unsolicited, 220 and/or bulk e-mail.

My client is getting understandably "shitty" I will appreciate any appropriate advice please. Support from ThePlanets has been unsuccessful

thanks
Peter
Macao
What does "will not communicate" mean? There can be dozens of various issues with mailing so details would be appreciated if you're looking for advice.
filmo
a lot of our mail to hot mail and msn clients is now being blocked.

Something changed at hotmail/msn about a week ago.

Of course when you contact MSN/Hotmail, you enter the kaffkaese world where they tell you you've been identified as 'suspicious' but nothing specific that would allow you to change it.

We don't spam, or even use mail lists for that matter to reach our clients, yet for some reason our e-mail is now being blocked to hot mail/man.

Very Frustrating. I've installed the Ensim HELO patch and already have SPF record set up, but yet still getting blocked with no way to change it.
pli
QUOTE (filmo @ Mar 15 2007, 07:55 PM) *
a lot of our mail to hot mail and msn clients is now being blocked.

Something changed at hotmail/msn about a week ago.

Of course when you contact MSN/Hotmail, you enter the kaffkaese world where they tell you you've been identified as 'suspicious' but nothing specific that would allow you to change it.

We don't spam, or even use mail lists for that matter to reach our clients, yet for some reason our e-mail is now being blocked to hot mail/man.

Very Frustrating. I've installed the Ensim HELO patch and already have SPF record set up, but yet still getting blocked with no way to change it.


Sorry, I found a fix to my issue, and should have added it here

If you go to http://www.dnsstuff.com and enter the affected domain name in DNS Report what is the result of MX Record?

P
filmo
QUOTE (pli @ Mar 15 2007, 08:43 PM) *
Sorry, I found a fix to my issue, and should have added it here

If you go to http://www.dnsstuff.com and enter the affected domain name in DNS Report what is the result of MX Record?

P

My MX records give my 'passes' accross the board.

The only warning I get is in "Mail server host name in greeting" which i think is pretty common for hosted sites.


WARNING: One or more of your mailservers is claiming to be a host other than what it really is (the SMTP greeting should be a 3-digit code, followed by a space or a dash, then the host name). If your mailserver sends out E-mail using this domain in its EHLO or HELO, your E-mail might get blocked by anti-spam software. This is also a technical violation of RFC821 4.3 (and RFC2821 4.3.1). Note that the hostname given in the SMTP greeting should have an A record pointing back to the same server. Note that this one test may use a cached DNS record.

mail.my_hosted_doman.com claims to be host srv02.my_server.com [but that host is at 67.35.323.16 (may be cached), not 67.35.120.135].


I do have PTR set up correctly.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2010 Invision Power Services, Inc.