Hi Moegal, this is my side of the story...
I ordered a new server recently from The Planet. Unfortunately for me, this box was flagged as a spam source almost immediately by CBL because it is an Ensim box. For those who do not know why CBL would blacklist Ensim boxes, read the link below.
(For those customer service persons or techs at Hotmail / MSN, i dunno which side of our solar system u live in, but you've got to read and know more about what's happening around you! There is no excuse that you guys didn't know. If you do not know, then don't block!)http://forum.ensim.com/showthread.php?t=16653My IP was blacklisted at CBL for 3 days until I found the solution at:
http://onlinesupport.ensim.com/TWKB/ViewCa...nowledgeID=2331Just when I thought that it all had ended, there it came another problem that the server was unable to send any mails to Hotmail. All mails would be returned like this:
____________________________________________
----- The following addresses had permanent fatal errors -----
<username@hotmail.com>
(reason: 550 Your e-mail was rejected for policy reasons on this gateway.
Reasons for rejection may be relate...se note: if you are an end-user please
contact your E-mail/Internet Service Provider for assistance.)
----- Transcript of session follows -----
... while talking to mx4.hotmail.com.:
>>> MAIL From:<username@mydomain.com> SIZE=827
<<< 550 Your e-mail was rejected for policy reasons on this gateway. Reasons for
rejection may be related to content such as obscene language, graphics, or spam-like
characteristics (or) other reputation problems. For sender troubleshooting
information, please go to
http://postmaster.msn.com. Please note: if you are an
end-user please contact your E-mail/Internet Service Provider for assistance.
554 5.0.0 Service unavailable
____________________________________________
I contacted Hotmail, they couldn't find any reasons why my mails wouldn't go through. So they suggested that I cleaned up all the failed errors at dnsreport. I did as requested, fixing the common "open DNS servers" issue, plus added a valid spf record, in the hopes of solving the issue as soon as possible.
Still, mails got bounced from Hotmail servers. I was angry and asked Hotmail to fetch a supervisor or an experienced tech to look into the issue urgently. Finally, they admitted that they have put a block to my IP because it appeared as SPAM for 3 days at
http://www.trustedsource.org during last week.
They are slow in responding, so over the few days various techs handled the issue with me. One tech would say that there been spikes over the last 10 days and asked that I cleaned up my system. No matter how hard I tried to explain to them that it was an Ensim / CBL issue, they wouldn't listen but keep slamming that my server had already sent out spams.
The other tech from Hotmail would slam my server in a different way. She said this "Your IP has been blocked because too many Hotmail customers have actively flagged e-mails from your IP as Junk Mail". I asked her for proof, please. She replied this "I understand that you must be frustrated. We are working diligently to assist with the email deliverability issues you are experiencing, thank you."
I have checked all my mailllogs and found nothing about my server being exploited to send out spams. I have also signed up for
http://postmaster.live.com/snds and found NO records of Hotmail customers actively flagging emails from my IP as Junk Mail there. HENCEFORTH SHE IS LYING! She replied me with her assumptions and imagination, not based on proof.
11 days now, Hotmail is still refusing to lift the ban! 11 days now and still counting. How efficient is Hotmail / MSN?I warn you guys if your Ensim server has not been fixed, do it soon. I have lost confidence in the way Hotmail handles mail issues. Yes I have already informed some of my clients to reply to their clients' Yahoo or Gmail instead.