Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Site Access from UK
The Planet Forums > System Administration > General Support Questions
taslett
Over the last couple of days 3 seperate people all from the UK have been having problems accessing my site.CSS Forum

User #1: Can't access via his normal ISP account, he can via a seperate dialup accout.
This user has been a regular member/visitor to the site for many months.

User #2: Can access the site but has been having problems posting to the forums. He logs in the when posting gets logged out again.

User #3: Can access the site fine but any mail to his address from my site or personal account is bounced before reaching his server.

These issues may all be unrelated but it seems strange to me that they have all occured over the last couple of days and that the users are all from the UK.

I don't think it is a server issue as I haven't made any changes that could cause these problems.
Could it be a routing problem and if so where do I look and what can be done about it.

Thanks
Yivit
You may want to try to obtain traceroutes from the 'good' and 'bad' connections from the users with problems, and also traceroute from your server to their IP addresses. If it's some network issue, it should show up in those.

As far as the bounced emails... what kind of bounce are you getting?
taslett
Hi Yivit,
Thanks for the reply.
Nothing shows up as a problem with traceroute in either direction.
QUOTE
This message was created automatically by mail delivery software.

A message that you sent could not be delivered to one or more of its
recipients. This is a permanent error. The following address(es) failed:

 roy@xxxx.co.uk
   retry time not reached for any host after a long failure period
taslett
It now looks like problem #1 and #2 above have disappeared,
#3 is still bouncing email, and as no other users seem to be getting bounced I can only conclude that somewhere the email is being blocked as spam.

Any better ideas would be welcomed icon_smile.gif
saddleup
QUOTE (Yivit)
You may want to try to obtain traceroutes from the 'good' and 'bad' connections from the users with problems, and also traceroute from your server to their IP addresses. If it's some network issue, it should show up in those.


I have the same problem. Would be interested to know if the users having trouble are using BT. A longstanding member of my site has been having trouble since last Wednesday. I got her to do a tracert and it times out on ivhou-207-218-245-111-ev1.net

She got onto BT support who said she was being blocked.

They changed her ip address and shewas able to access the site again - for about 15 minutes. Then she was blocked again. The ip address blocked the second time was 81.157.142.111

If anyone from EV1 can shed some light ????
Yivit
taslett-
yes, that sure sounds like spam filters are catching it, and it sounds like it's on the user's end (either they set up spam filtering or their ISP has implemented something on them)

saddleup-
might want to contact tech support with the IP address(es) and have them check for a block on their end. also, supply them with traceroutes both directions (they can see if it's internal network or backbone or other end that way)

good luck to both of you
saadsok
Hi
I am also in the UK using btbroadband, with mailscanner my IP was being blocked as plenty of spam comes from bt connections, the IP I was connecting with was blocked and all my mail was tagged as spam so I added my address to the whitelist, but yes BT ip addresses do appear to be blocked allover because of spam.
taslett
The last of my problems #3 has now fixed itself.
I'm not sure exactly what caused the problem, at least it wasn't something I had done.
I can only cross my finger that it wont happen again. icon_smile.gif

Thanks for the help.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2010 Invision Power Services, Inc.