Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Can't send email to AOL users
The Planet Forums > Control Panels > cPanel/WHM
StealthDesign
How come I can't send mail to AOL users?

All emails bounce back with this message:

QUOTE
SMTP error from remote mailer after initial connection:
host mailin-04.mx.aol.com [205.188.159.217]: 554- (RTR:SC)  The information presently available to AOL indicates
554- that this server has been repeatedly used to transmit unsolicited
554- bulk e-mail to AOL.  Based on AOL's e-mail policies at
554- http://postmaster.info.aol.com/standards.html, AOL cannot accept
554- further e-mail transactions from this server for an extended
554- period of time.  Please have your ISP/ASP contact AOL to resolve


Does anyone else get that? And how do I fix it? I never ever send bulk mail! :confused:
dynamicnet
Greetings:

Make sure you have a reverse DNS set up for your mail server IP.

mail server machine name => points to => IP
IP => revse dns = points to => mail server machine name.

Also, check your mail server IP in the SPAM database on http://www.dnsstuff.com/

Thank you.
StealthDesign
QUOTE
Originally posted by dynamicnet
Greetings:

Make sure you have a reverse DNS set up for your mail server IP.

mail server machine name => points to => IP
IP => revse dns = points to => mail server machine name.

Also, check your mail server IP in the SPAM database on http://www.dnsstuff.com/

Thank you.



It looks like EV1Servers put me on an IP address which is listed in the Spam Database "BlarsBL". Which is upsetting because I am strongly anti-spam!
ukagg
Hello,

I am also having the same problem. Means any email send from my server to any AOL user is being bounced back. I have checked Reverse DNS for my servers IP is properly setup, and my servers IP is NOT listed in any spam database.

Also, one of the email address on my server is continously receiving thousands of "Undelievered Returned Emails" from AOL. I am sure that user is NOT a spammer. How can I find that, spam is actually originating from my server, or the spammer is just using email address of my server just to create confusion?
foggy
QUOTE
Originally posted by StealthDesign
It looks like EV1Servers put me on an IP address which is listed in the Spam Database "BlarsBL".  Which is upsetting because I am strongly anti-spam!


Blars is nothing to worry about.. That guy is a freak and no one uses his black list.

Your problem is because you need to have RS add reverse DNS info on the mailserver IP

You can do this through the members section under DNS

for you IP make it resolve to servername.yourdomain.com
eMax
QUOTE
Originally posted by foggy
Blars is nothing to worry about.. That guy is a freak and no one uses his black list.

Your problem is because you need to have RS add reverse DNS info on the mailserver IP

You can do this through the members section under DNS

for you IP make it resolve to servername.yourdomain.com


foggy - I thought the reverse DNS should be IP>>Nameserver?

Your saying it should be IP>>mich1.mydomain.com?
(mich1 being the name of one of my servers.)
foggy
QUOTE
Originally posted by eMax
foggy - I thought the reverse DNS should be IP>>Nameserver?

Your saying it should be IP>>mich1.mydomain.com?
(mich1 being the name of one of my servers.)


It can be IP >> anything.yourdomain.com

I like to use my name servers.. but have done the servers name.. it makes no difference, as long as it resolves to your server..
beebware
To clarify, when a mail server does a rDNS check it usually does the following:

Reads incoming IP address (IPA)
Performs an rDNS/RR (reverse record) check to get the hostname such as servername.example.com
Then performs a standard forward lookup to see what IP address servername.example.com uses

If the two IP addresses (the start and end ones) don't match up, then it's likely that somebody has entered an incorrect RR entry to try and make abuse reports go elsewhere. Therefore you've got to have an RR entry for your hostname and an A entry for that hostname as well.
aussie
QUOTE
Originally posted by foggy
Blars is nothing to worry about.. That guy is a freak and no one uses his black list.

Your problem is because you need to have RS add reverse DNS info on the mailserver IP

You can do this through the members section under DNS

for you IP make it resolve to servername.yourdomain.com


Please tell us how to do this? The last time i visited the Members section i did not see provisions made to allow Rackshack members to administer reverse ptr records.
foggy
QUOTE
Originally posted by aussie
Please tell us how to do this? The last time i visited the Members section i did not see provisions made to allow Rackshack members to administer reverse ptr records.


I think they just added it somewhere.. I havent been in there for a while, but i read that its been added..

If not, just do it the old way... via trouble tucket
StealthDesign
QUOTE
Originally posted by foggy
Blars is nothing to worry about.. That guy is a freak and no one uses his black list.

Your problem is because you need to have RS add reverse DNS info on the mailserver IP

You can do this through the members section under DNS

for you IP make it resolve to servername.yourdomain.com



Reverse Pointers have been set for a week and a half now and I still can't send mail.

If you wanna double check that I did it right, the server hostname is earth.systemland.com

What else could it be?
Xanith
I had this problem recently you need to contact AOL via phone(you can get the Phone # at postmaster.aol.com). In my case they had to submit a ticket to someone higher up and within 2 days the block was removed. I did not setup my RDNS for awhile and that is why I was blocked. It was an easy fix and the people at AOL were very helpful.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.