Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: AOL Blacklist
The Planet Forums > Control Panels > cPanel/WHM
jcv
my server received this bounced email from one of my clients and it seems like my server has been blacklisted from AOL. is this the effect of the FORMMAIL issue that SPAMMERS have been exploiting? i've checked the logfiles and my client never spammed anyone though he is using this Formmail script. what can i do now that my server has been blacklisted? is there a way to revert this? here is the bounced mail from AOL (i've changed the email name to "user"):

user@aol.com R=lookuphost T=remote_smtp: SMTP error
from remote mailer after initial connection: host mailin-02.mx.aol.com
[64.12.138.120]: 554-(RLY:B1) The information presently
available to AOL indicates thisn554-server is generating
high volumes of member complaints from AOL'sn554-member
base. Based on AOL's Unsolicited Bulk E-mail policy
atn554-http://www.aol.com/info/bulkemail.html AOL
may not accept furthern554-e-mail transactions from
this server or domain. For more information,n554 please
visit http://postmaster.info.aol.com
Erwin
I get this too. Not sure what to do about it. There's another thread discussing this.
jcv
does that mean we won't be able to send emails to AOL forever using our server? you think changing our IPs would solve the problem? thanks for the reply, Erwin!
Mary B.
A couple of our clients got the same email from AOL. We called them and fixed the problem by asking Rackshack support to create a reverse DNS for our server. It's a standard email that AOL uses, it doesn't neccessarily mean that anyone at all has actually made a complaint.
jcv
thanks for the link CornFused!

...but my server already had reverse DNS setup before AOL blocked it.

anyway, how do i open a trouble ticket at AOL so that i could make a request to unblock my server?
CornFused
use the phone number to call aol, they can run tests and tell you what the problem is on their end.
jcv
will do that. thanks again!
rockster
here is a very interesting example of how some folk take this random absolute blaocking by AOL...


in fact, the true fact is aol is the worst spamming org on the net, followed closely by yahoo and msn....


**************************
Good Day:

As you may be aware, C I Host has filed a lawsuit against America Online (AOL) for blocking IP addresses from C I Host's
shared hosting e-mail servers to AOL subscribers. Dedicated and Colocation servers were unaffected.

AOL has accused some of our customers of spamming AOL addresses and listed that as its reason for blocking our IP addresses.

As you know, C I Host vigorously combats the problem of spam. Our SpamCop filters blocked more than 16 million spam e-mails
last week alone. You're also aware that our Service Level Agreement (SLA) forbids our customers from spamming.

C I Host is dedicated to protecting your rights and will pursue this legal battle on your behalf until the end.

AOL has been blocking various C I Host IP addresses for about two weeks. We have tried to settle this dispute out of court,
but to no avail.

Since AOL refused to unblock the IP addresses, we pursued and received a temporary restraining order against AOL, forcing them to unblock the IP addresses.

Currently, AOL has removed all IP blocks and is allowing all customer email to pass through to AOL subscribers normally and assues us there will no longer block any of our IP addresses.

However, we still plan to continue to pursue this issue with the Texas Courts in September to keep them from ever taking such action against our customers again.

Rest assured that we are working diligently to insure that your business runs smoothly and that the service from C I Host continues to be second to none.

Please let us know if you have any questions or concerns. We will keep you aprised of any new developments in this situation.

Sincerely,

Christopher Faulkner
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer
C I Host
rockster
OH.. forgot this:


had this problem as well call AOL the telephone number is 1-888-212-5537. They will ask for your mail server's IP then they will look it up and tell you why it's blocked. In my case I just had to add a rdns entry. Once the rdns was working I called them back they checked it and unblocked the server. First time I have ever had a good experience with AOL.


rocxk
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.