About Us  |  Blog  |  Hosting Partners  |  Legal  |  Portal Login

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Can't send email to AOL users
Guest_StealthDesign_*
post Nov 26 2003, 10:42 AM
Post #1





Guests






How come I can't send mail to AOL users?

All emails bounce back with this message:

QUOTE
SMTP error from remote mailer after initial connection:
host mailin-04.mx.aol.com [205.188.159.217]: 554- (RTR:SC)  The information presently available to AOL indicates
554- that this server has been repeatedly used to transmit unsolicited
554- bulk e-mail to AOL.  Based on AOL's e-mail policies at
554- http://postmaster.info.aol.com/standards.html, AOL cannot accept
554- further e-mail transactions from this server for an extended
554- period of time.  Please have your ISP/ASP contact AOL to resolve


Does anyone else get that? And how do I fix it? I never ever send bulk mail! :confused:
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dynamicnet
post Nov 26 2003, 10:43 AM
Post #2


Computer Chip
***

Group: Members
Posts: 949
Joined: 29-March 02
Member No.: 1,839



Greetings:

Make sure you have a reverse DNS set up for your mail server IP.

mail server machine name => points to => IP
IP => revse dns = points to => mail server machine name.

Also, check your mail server IP in the SPAM database on http://www.dnsstuff.com/

Thank you.


--------------------
Peter M. Abraham, Senior Server Administrator
Dynamic Net, Inc. -- US/Canada: 001-888-887-6727; International: 001-717-484-1062 -- email solutions @ dynamicnet.net
H-Sphere Strategic Partner for Security and Server Management
Server Security, Server Administration, co-location, dedicated servers, H-Sphere licenses, and more
http://www.dynamicnet.net/services/hsphere.htm
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Guest_StealthDesign_*
post Nov 26 2003, 11:35 AM
Post #3





Guests






QUOTE
Originally posted by dynamicnet
Greetings:

Make sure you have a reverse DNS set up for your mail server IP.

mail server machine name => points to => IP
IP => revse dns = points to => mail server machine name.

Also, check your mail server IP in the SPAM database on http://www.dnsstuff.com/

Thank you.



It looks like EV1Servers put me on an IP address which is listed in the Spam Database "BlarsBL". Which is upsetting because I am strongly anti-spam!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ukagg
post Nov 26 2003, 02:20 PM
Post #4


Fellow
**

Group: Members
Posts: 109
Joined: 2-September 01
Member No.: 248



Hello,

I am also having the same problem. Means any email send from my server to any AOL user is being bounced back. I have checked Reverse DNS for my servers IP is properly setup, and my servers IP is NOT listed in any spam database.

Also, one of the email address on my server is continously receiving thousands of "Undelievered Returned Emails" from AOL. I am sure that user is NOT a spammer. How can I find that, spam is actually originating from my server, or the spammer is just using email address of my server just to create confusion?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
foggy
post Nov 26 2003, 02:53 PM
Post #5


SuperGeek
****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,702
Joined: 22-March 02
From: Beverly, MA
Member No.: 1,758



QUOTE
Originally posted by StealthDesign
It looks like EV1Servers put me on an IP address which is listed in the Spam Database "BlarsBL".  Which is upsetting because I am strongly anti-spam!


Blars is nothing to worry about.. That guy is a freak and no one uses his black list.

Your problem is because you need to have RS add reverse DNS info on the mailserver IP

You can do this through the members section under DNS

for you IP make it resolve to servername.yourdomain.com


--------------------
-Matt

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
eMax
post Nov 26 2003, 03:38 PM
Post #6


Enlightened
*

Group: Members
Posts: 53
Joined: 17-April 03
Member No.: 7,161



QUOTE
Originally posted by foggy
Blars is nothing to worry about.. That guy is a freak and no one uses his black list.

Your problem is because you need to have RS add reverse DNS info on the mailserver IP

You can do this through the members section under DNS

for you IP make it resolve to servername.yourdomain.com


foggy - I thought the reverse DNS should be IP>>Nameserver?

Your saying it should be IP>>mich1.mydomain.com?
(mich1 being the name of one of my servers.)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
foggy
post Nov 26 2003, 05:55 PM
Post #7


SuperGeek
****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,702
Joined: 22-March 02
From: Beverly, MA
Member No.: 1,758



QUOTE
Originally posted by eMax
foggy - I thought the reverse DNS should be IP>>Nameserver?

Your saying it should be IP>>mich1.mydomain.com?
(mich1 being the name of one of my servers.)


It can be IP >> anything.yourdomain.com

I like to use my name servers.. but have done the servers name.. it makes no difference, as long as it resolves to your server..


--------------------
-Matt

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
beebware
post Nov 27 2003, 01:43 PM
Post #8


Enlightened
*

Group: Members
Posts: 54
Joined: 28-September 03
Member No.: 10,466



To clarify, when a mail server does a rDNS check it usually does the following:

Reads incoming IP address (IPA)
Performs an rDNS/RR (reverse record) check to get the hostname such as servername.example.com
Then performs a standard forward lookup to see what IP address servername.example.com uses

If the two IP addresses (the start and end ones) don't match up, then it's likely that somebody has entered an incorrect RR entry to try and make abuse reports go elsewhere. Therefore you've got to have an RR entry for your hostname and an A entry for that hostname as well.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
aussie
post Nov 30 2003, 02:24 AM
Post #9


SuperGeek
****

Group: Members
Posts: 3,160
Joined: 31-January 02
From: USA
Member No.: 1,260



QUOTE
Originally posted by foggy
Blars is nothing to worry about.. That guy is a freak and no one uses his black list.

Your problem is because you need to have RS add reverse DNS info on the mailserver IP

You can do this through the members section under DNS

for you IP make it resolve to servername.yourdomain.com


Please tell us how to do this? The last time i visited the Members section i did not see provisions made to allow Rackshack members to administer reverse ptr records.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
foggy
post Nov 30 2003, 10:38 AM
Post #10


SuperGeek
****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,702
Joined: 22-March 02
From: Beverly, MA
Member No.: 1,758



QUOTE
Originally posted by aussie
Please tell us how to do this? The last time i visited the Members section i did not see provisions made to allow Rackshack members to administer reverse ptr records.


I think they just added it somewhere.. I havent been in there for a while, but i read that its been added..

If not, just do it the old way... via trouble tucket


--------------------
-Matt

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Guest_StealthDesign_*
post Dec 1 2003, 12:59 PM
Post #11





Guests






QUOTE
Originally posted by foggy
Blars is nothing to worry about.. That guy is a freak and no one uses his black list.

Your problem is because you need to have RS add reverse DNS info on the mailserver IP

You can do this through the members section under DNS

for you IP make it resolve to servername.yourdomain.com



Reverse Pointers have been set for a week and a half now and I still can't send mail.

If you wanna double check that I did it right, the server hostname is earth.systemland.com

What else could it be?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Xanith
post Dec 2 2003, 11:38 PM
Post #12


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 25-February 03
Member No.: 6,299



I had this problem recently you need to contact AOL via phone(you can get the Phone # at postmaster.aol.com). In my case they had to submit a ticket to someone higher up and within 2 days the block was removed. I did not setup my RDNS for awhile and that is why I was blocked. It was an easy fix and the people at AOL were very helpful.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st November 2009 - 08:06 PM
 

Dedicated Servers

Managed Hosting

Colocation

Business Solutions

Why The Planet?

Contact Us